Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Marissa tutors in Madison, WI

Marissa A.

Private tutor in Madison, WI

Education

I am a graduate of Princeton University (3.82 GPA, Highest honors. I majored in chemistry and minored in neuroscience. In the fall, I will begin a PhD at Columbia University in Neurobiology and Behavior. I will concentrate on circuits and systems neuroscience. Previously, I graduated from Princeton Day School (cum laude).

Experience

Previous experience: Hebrew Tutor (5 years) Writing center Mentor (2 years) Math/ science tutor (2 years) (head of science tutor program 1 year) Misc tutoring jobs in college (mostly for professor's children) Test scores SAT: 2200 (750 Math, 750 critical reading, 700 writing) ACT: 34 AP exams: Chemistry, Biology, BC Calculus, Statistics, US History, US Government and Politics, Latin Vergil, English Literature earned a score of 5 on all exams I want to be a tutor because I love teaching. As someone who has been lucky enough to have many excellent teachers in the past, I know how important having the right instructor can be. I have taken many science and math courses, both at the high school and undergraduate level (as well as one graduate course in neuropharmacology). In college, I have completed a year of physics courses, a year of organic chemistry, a year of neuroscience, biochemistry, linear algebra, and computer science, in addition to many humanities courses. I had a GPA of 4.1 in high school, and currently (in my first five semesters) have a GPA of 3.8.

Availability

Weekends after 10AM, Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I do a lot of work in theaters, focusing a lot on backstage technical aspects; I especially love musicals. Additionally, I conduct independent lab research in neuroscience. I have spent the past three years doing neuroscience research on top of my coursework and have worked in areas from computational neuroscience involving fMRI experiments, to working with the latest techniques in neuroscience, such as CLARiTY. For my senior thesis project, I am engineering biological calcium indicators, known as GCaMP.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!