Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Sarah tutors in Madison, WI

Sarah D.

Private tutor in Madison, WI

Education

UW-Madison 2nd year PhD student in Biomedical Engineering, specifically biomechanics, currently studying aging mechanics of the Achilles tendon through quantitative MRI. Bucknell University Grad in Biomedical Engineering GPA 3.4 overall, 3.7 engineering

Experience

SAT and GRE Quantitative: 790/800 and 168/170 I have been tutoring a variety of subjects formally for about 7 years starting my sophomore year in high school. I began with peer tutoring for geometry along with SSAT math for family friends. Since starting college I've tutored elementary through high school math independently along with PSAT and SAT Math. Through Bucknell's Teaching and Learning Center I've tutored and lead study groups for intro college physics and lead a group for an intro college calculus. On top of tutoring in the past 3 years I've also been a Teaching Assistant for courses in physics, circuits, electronics, and CAD. While I've done well in all forms of standardized test math, I think one of my strong suits is being understanding of students' struggles with math anxiety and knowledge gaps. Finding methods that work in studying to build the necessary confidence and find ways to finally master some of the more basic algebra skills needed has proven successful. SAT Scores: Math: 790 Verbal: 690 Writing: 750 GRE Scores Quantitative: 168 Verbal: 157 AP Calc AB: 5 AP Physics B: 5 In the fall of 2016 I started my PhD in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and wouldn't be remotely surprised if a professorship were in my future. Between individual tutoring, TAing, study groups, and help sessions, I have hundreds of students under my belt. I love kids and young adults alike and have built a lot of paitence over the years to take the time to make sure the concept is understood even if that means teaching something 4 different ways. It's a creative intellectual challenge that I look for. As of Spring of 2017 I'm under contract with Galin Education in Middleton and restricted from tutoring high school students. The company is fantastic and feel to ask me any questions about them, I'd be happy to refer you.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Horseback riding, ballroom dancing, hiking, biking, acro yoga, pretty much anything outside! In my personal life I can sometimes be pretty quiet and can come off a little shy so I'm very understanding of my students that are maybe a little nervous at first. As the relationship builds in tutoring, I try hard to remember details about their lives to show I pay attention and care: ask about their dog or that Spanish project even though we're working on math. I strive to get to a point where we can laugh together at silly mistakes and the student isn't fearful of giving a challenging looking problem a go and embracing and learning from the mistakes.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!