Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Kera tutors in Madison, WI

Kera O.

Private tutor in Madison, WI

Education

I attended Edgewood College in Madison, WI where I majored in English Teaching and minored in Secondary Education and Ethnic Studies. I graduated with high honors.

Experience

I am currently an English teacher at the high school level in Madison, WI where I teach English and develop curriculum at regular and Advanced Placement levels. I currently teach freshmen, but have had lots of experience working with upper level high school students and middle school students as well. Day in and out I go to work to teach my students about the subject that I love and am passionate about in order to foster within them a love of learning. I have also tutored in English at the college level, where I worked in a writing center for a job. Here, I aided students, faculty and staff of all levels with helping to start and improve written assignments of various types. Other things of potential interest: I have also taught classes of remedial English, and classes focusing on English for ESL students at the high school level. In College: was published in the "Who's Who of American Colleges and Universities" as an outstanding student in college, Certificate of "Academic Scholarly Achievement" for my essay "Black Sisterhood in Alice Walker's The Color Purple". Was a Student Research conference Presenter. Ultimately, teaching is my passion. Interacting with students everyday, I realize that English is not something that comes naturally to all because of a variety of situations. Sometimes a bit of extra one-on-one support can go a long way with helping to increase understanding, reviewing or clarifying an idea, or just putting the polishing details on a piece of work. Tutoring is something that I enjoy doing on the side in order to offer that extra support to not just my students, but anyone in need.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekdays after 4PM, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I work with high school students day in and out, and know how their minds work. I, myself, am a few years out of college, and can connect with students well based off of their interests, and explaining and connecting things to current examples "happening now". While English may not be the favorite for everyone, I know how to explain its practicality to several career fields and the reasonings for its importance. When I'm not teaching: - I love spending time with my husband and new goldendoodle puppy, Addison. -I have worked with kids at a neighborhood pool in Madison for many years lifeguarding, teaching swimming lessons and running a synchronized swimming program. - I also have taught dance in the Madison area, and was a big dancer myself. -I am an avid Badger sports fan and love the atmosphere gameday in the city provides. -Scrapbooking and crafting are also passions of mine. -Sitting down with a great book helps to relax me. -One thing I would love to do more of is traveling and seeing all the world has to offer.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!