Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Nicholas tutors in Madison, WI

Nicholas C.

Private tutor in Madison, WI

Education

I have degrees in English (rhetoric and writing emphasis) and Philosophy from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, graduating with Honors in Spring 2014. I finished my last four semesters with over a 3.9 GPA (took me a little while to get going!) I will be pursuing graduate studies at Harvard Divinity School in Fall 2015, where I will be studying Comparative Religion and the History of Early Christianity. I hope to eventually earn a PhD, teach at the university level, and be a prolific writer.

Experience

For the past year I have tutored through a company in Madison, tutoring High School students in English, Writing, History, Hebrew/Christian Scriptures, and Public Speaking. In addition to tutoring, I have been a writer and editor for a local tech startup. I also recently took the GRE, scoring a 163 (90th percentile) in the English section and a 5 (93rd percentile) in the Analytical Writing section - unfortunately, I cannot help with math! I have published papers in four different academic journals, won contests/awards for both poetry and playwriting, and presented papers at local and national academic conferences.

Availability

Weekdays after 9AM

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Although going to graduate school for Religion isn't the most "normal" pursuit, I am quite personable and have many interests that connect me with a variety of different people. For example, I was a captain for my varsity football team in High School, and I am a longtime Packer and Badger fan. Also, I'm a big golfer. I play a few instruments - mainly the guitar, but also some mandolin, piano, ukulele, and banjo (the only one I could probably teach would be guitar). And, of course, I love to read!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!