Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Mike tutors in Madison, WI

Mike P.

Private tutor in Madison, WI

Education

Graduate from University of Wisconsin - Madison with degrees in English and History. I received my degree in May of 2017, with a 4.0 GPA in English and a 3.81/4.00 cumulative. I wrote my History capstone on the historical memory of the Vietnam War.

Experience

I was in the Writing Fellow Program at UW-Madison, which is a dedicated group of selected undergraduate students who are trained in giving useful feedback on the writing of their peers. I was a Writing Fellow for 2 years, where I gave detailed feedback to courses in Clinical Psychology, Human and Wildlife Geography, Community and Social Change, and Economic Anthropology. All Writing Fellows are enrolled in a 3-credit course called Writing Across the Curriculum, which trained us to apply the principles of our work to any and all subjects that use writing in their coursework - even courses such as Algebra, Economics, or Chemistry, so long as there is a written component. I deeply enjoyed getting to know my students, and worked as hard as I could to understand their unique perspectives and provide useful, manageable feedback to them. In my last semester of college I was chosen to lead, along with one other Fellow, a 1-credit course for freshmen students, training them to think, speak, and write in ways that improve their confidence and skill as a college writer. I want to be a tutor because I loved this line of work. I learned how to work with a wide range of diverse individuals, and have acquired the skills to provide useful feedback to writers and readers of any skill level. I'm a very patient tutor who looks to build you up. I love to strengthen the voices of my students and empower them in their ideas. Specific areas where I have experience: reading comprehension, analytical reading and writing, English Literature, American Literature, European and American History of the 20th Century, essay organization and construction, writing for clarity, and writing for persuasiveness. While I have lots of experience with college students, I am looking forward to working with anyone and everyone, whether they are young readers and writers in Elementary School, Middle or High School, or college. I would love to help your child

Availability

Weekdays in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate, Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I'm a very active person who loves to be outside. I've run probably 15 triathlons in my life and was on the Triathlon Team here at UW-Madison, and I've run 3 marathons. I love bikes and volunteer as a bike mechanic a few days a week in Madison. I absolutely love dogs, and I have a 1-year old Sheltie named Finley. Some of my favorite things to read are George Saunders short stories, mystery novels, anything that has to do with space (I love space), and the Harry Potter books. I would love to help grow young readers and I'm looking for ways to do that now.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!